Tahoe Science Consortium Update 2013

August 19, 2013

Dear Presidents Johnson and Wells,

On behalf of the Tahoe Science Consortium, I would like to recognize and thank researchers from the University of Nevada, Reno and DRI for their outstanding contributions to the Tahoe Science Program. Your scientists have worked on many projects over the last eight years to help provide a scientific basis to understand, protect and restore Lake Tahoe and its ecosystems. Scientists from the University and DRI worked in collaboration with researchers from the University of California, Davis, the U.S. Geological Survey, the U.S. Forest Service, Tahoe resource agencies and other organizations around the country to deliver data and expert advice to environmental policy makers, regulators and managers.

The Tahoe research community has advanced our knowledge of mountain aquatic ecosystems and provided the basis for science-based management of Lake Tahoe, a critical and unique national ecological treasure. They have pioneered work to understand nearshore ecology, reduce the impact of aquatic invasive species, model the production and transport of ozone and other pollutants in the Tahoe Basin, improve lake clarity, and restore stream environment zones. They worked diligently to protect special status species, reduce the risk of catastrophic wildfires, understand the impacts of climate change, quantify the impacts of the built environment on Tahoe’s ecosystems, determine the value of ecosystem services, and evaluate the risk of extreme events.

In addition to conducting scientific research, Tahoe scientists have served as subject matter expert advisors to federal and state management agencies and educated the next generation of environmental scientists, engineers, artists and policy makers about the importance of sustainable environmental stewardship. Your researchers have been integral to restoring and protecting Lake Tahoe and sharing this knowledge with similar communities around the world.

Thank you for these outstanding and continuing contributions.


Maureen McCarthy
Executive Director

Comments are closed.